Texture – Exercise 2 Project 1

We were asked to collect a selection of objects with different surface textures and experiment with depicting the textures in our sketchbooks.

My first page, I was quite lazy and didn’t particularly go hunting for objects but started with objects I had in the same room as me – this may tell you something about me already!
As I usually paint and like to create texture within paintings using the texture of the paint itself, I wanted to try and force myself initially to just create the texture in 2D using simple materials.  Therefore, the first six sketches just use pencils and the sketchbook paper, not something I do a lot.  I started with a piece of ripped corrugated cardboard and wanted to get the 3D texture of the ridges in a 2D form.  The second simple sketch is a small piece of crumbled soft pastel, again just using graphite pencils.  Next, I wanted to try something with a harder more solid texture so tried to do one of my daughter’s lego bricks.  As I didn’t feel I captured the shininess I focused on something with a lot of shine – an empty foil packet.
The next 5 sketches all focus on a clementine, I started with a simple very quick pencil sketch of the whole fruit but didn’t feel happy with the way I drew the texture of the skin so decided to experiment with different ways of portraying this.  Sketch 5 is still in pencil but I wanted to focus on a small piece of the skin and really concentrate on the pitted texture, still not happy I used the skin itself with ink to print what the texture is actually like.  Zooming in further I used a hand lens to really magnify the pits themselves and tried to create this texture with charcoal.  Finally I couldn’t resist getting the paint out and using a very stiff stencil brush I used a mixture of cad orange and black acrylic paint to try and recreate the pitted textures.
As I felt my first few sketches were really just warm up sketches and after enjoying trying to portray one texture in different ways, I took this idea forward and concentrated on four objects but focusing on each one in four different ways:

The first object was actually a wool hat but I concentrated on the texture of just a section of the knitted part.  Using pencil I wanted to try and get the repetitive pattern of the knit but also show the irregularities in the texture as parts had been stretched and twisted slightly.  I then concentrated on just one strand of the wool to try and capture the softness and cable like qualities.  Again zooming in further the final two wool sketches are using different types of graphite sticks to concentrate on just the softness of the texture.

In contrast, my next object was a hard plastic button, as I had struggled with the hard plastic nature of the lego brick I wanted to try different ways to get this quality in 2D.  Again I tired to use different materials to capture the hard texture, pencil was first and again I struggled with this.  I then drew around the button to get the exact shape and used charcoal sticks to focus on the hard outline created by the button.  The third drawing was using a black ink pen and simple cross hatching and the fourth section were experimental drawings using a mix of pencil and pastel, this time focusing on the shine element.

The third texture was a soft piece of cloth.  Again starting with pencil I tried to show the soft pillowy texture with a very quick outline drawing.  Using some acrylic paint I then focused on the detailed texture the cloth made when itself was used to apply the paint.  I like the effect this produced so tried to copy it using some soft grey ink and a mixture of firm and soft brushes.  The final drawing in this section was experimenting with some new water soluble pastels to see if I could portray this soft texture.

The final item was a metal key.  Again I wanted to try and concentrate on the shine as I didn’t think I had done this well earlier.  The top left drawing is using watercolours and I found this difficult to get the shiny texture and so switched below to pencils and ust concentrating on the cylinder of the key tried to get this shine to come through.  The final two images are focusing on the end part of the key which when you touch you can feel the squares pressing into your skin.  To show this I used ink and the actual key as a stamp and then I used these shapes underneath to do a ‘walk the line’ type drawing just using a black pen.

My final experiment (for now) with texture was using a frottage technique:

 

I used a thinner piece of paper than my sketchbook paper and a soft graphite stick to create an impression of different surfaces.  The surfaces were: a key, wooden floor, terracotta tiles, lemon zester, plastic clothes peg, wool rug, metal cupboard handle and a brick.

Author: claire516300

OCA Student. Currently studying Drawing 1

3 thoughts on “Texture – Exercise 2 Project 1”

Leave a Reply

